Scitent was founded as CardioConcepts in 1995 with a mission to provide compelling, relevant multimedia education for healthcare providers and other professionals. In 1999, we launched CardioVillage.com, a site providing continuing medical education (CME) credit in cardiovascular medicine. Today, Scitent provides eLearning services for the healthcare and consumer markets with online training tools that are innovative, interactive and effective. Scitent is based in Charlottesville, Virginia.

Our objective is to provide our clients with the eLearning tools and technology to accomplish their educational goals. The word Scitent is derived from the Greek roots “sci” (knowledge) and “ten” or “tent” (to attain).

Scitent Offices

Leadership Team

Deb McMahon, PhDPresident and CEO
Linda Coogle, MBA, CCMEPCOO

Founding Leadership

Larry-GimpleLAWRENCE W. GIMPLE, MD is Professor of Medicine at the University of Virginia School of Medicine. He is Director of Clinical Cardiology and Co-Director, Heart and Vascular Center of the University of Virginia Health System. Dr. Gimple graduated in 1983 from Harvard Medical School. He completed his internship and residency in Internal Medicine and fellowship in Cardiovascular Medicine at the Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Gimple has a clinical practice in Interventional Cardiology, basic research interests in atherosclerosis and restenosis after angioplasty, clinical research interests in acute coronary syndromes and outcomes after coronary interventions, and educational interests in the use of emerging technologies for teaching about cardiovascular disease and health.



head-buckleyRALPH S. BUCKLEY, MD is Clinical Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine at the University of Virginia School of Medicine, Cardiovascular Division. He has an interest in noninvasive cardiology, including care of patients with CAD, vascular heart disease, and arrhythmias. Dr. Buckley now practices with Cardiology Associates of Mobile, Alabama as a noninvasive cardiologist. He completed his medical training and residency at the University of Virginia where he became chief resident and, subsequently, a fellow in the cardiovascular division. Dr. Buckley helped develop the database that delivers the lessons in CardioVillage to the Internet. He began programming computers in the 1970s. When he and Dr. Gimple became interested in multimedia education, they used the Internet to bring interactive medical education to the web, creating CardioVillage, a web-based interactive initiative written by physicians for health care providers.

Drs. Buckley and Gimple were co-authors of Cases in Cardiology, an educational CD-ROM dedicated to teaching primary care physicians about cardiovascular medicine. Cases in Cardiology won the prestigious People’s Choice Award from Macromedia, an international competition for Outstanding Educational Software for adults.


Deb McMahonDEBRA K. MCMAHON, PhD is the President and CEO of Scitent, Inc., based in Charlottesville, VA. Deb received a BS in Biology, PhD in Pathology, and completed postdoctoral training in Hemostasis and Thrombosis at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Upon completion of her postdoc, Deb left academic research and focused on medical writing, editing, and instructional design. Deb started with Scitent in 1997 and has been the CEO since 2005. Along with her work at Scitent, Deb is active in the Alliance for Continuing Education in the Health Professions (ACEHP) where she currently serves as the Membership Committee Chair.

Deb has also served as a member of the ACEHP’s Professional Development Committee, Task Force for Product Development and Evaluation, and the Advisory Board for Strategic Collaboration. She is active in the entrepreneurial community as well and has served as Chair for the Charlottesville Venture Group, as a Board Member and Secretary for the Central Virginia Better Business Bureau, and as a Board Member for the former Business Growth Network.  Deb has served as a judge for the University of Virginia Business Concept Competition and a mentor for Startup Weekend Charlottesville. Deb is also involved in the local community, serving as a past Chair and current Board Member for the Paramount Theater in downtown Charlottesville and the Advisory Council for the Legal Aid Justice Center.